Why Are Only 1-2 Drops of Indicator Used in a Titration Experiment?

In summary, During a titration experiment, a gr11 student used an indicator, Phenolphthalein, and stopped the titration when it turned light pink. The student is wondering why only 1-2 drops of indicator are used. The reason is because the indicator has a high molar absorptivity, making it unnecessary to use more drops for a qualitative assessment. Further clarification may be needed.
!Live_4Ever!
omg Chem Titration help fast!

Ok so I'm a gr11 student who just had a titration exeriment.. and there are a couple of things that are really screwing me over!

Okay so we used an indicator, Phenolphthalein, more specifically, and when we stopped the titration when it turned light pink.

My question is, why are only 1~2 drops in indicator used?

I thought that it would be because of the indicator itself would also react with the acids and bases...but I just need some clarification here.. Can someone help me out here?

Physics news on Phys.org
You only need that much to make the qualitative assessment; the indicator has a high molar absorptivity.

Hi there! I understand that you are struggling with your titration experiment and have some questions about the use of the indicator, Phenolphthalein. Let me try to clarify a few things for you.

First of all, the reason you only use 1-2 drops of indicator is because it is a very concentrated solution and only a small amount is needed to see a color change. Using too much indicator can actually interfere with the accuracy of your titration results.

Secondly, you are correct that the indicator itself can react with the acids and bases, which is why it is important to choose an indicator that has a minimal effect on the reaction taking place. Phenolphthalein is a good choice for acid-base titrations because it only reacts with strong bases, not with weak acids or bases.