Which subfield of physics should I choose?

In summary: What would you advise me?In summary, if you are both excited about physics and want to pursue a graduate degree, then a graduate physics program is a good option. However, if you are not sure which subfield is the best for you, you should study the area that interests you most and then go where your nose leads you.
shahin75
Hi everyone; I have a question, and I hope you could answer it. Well, I have a bachelor degree in physics/computer science and I plan to go to a graduate physics program; however, I don’t know which subfield is good for me. I was looking for computational astrophysics, computational condensed matter, experimental condensed matter, atomic and nuclear physics. I know that you would say I should choose the path which inspires me, but I would like to know other opinions and then decide what to do. In fact, one of my majors were computer science which means that I’m not really very worried about future jobs (I will be employed somewhere with this degree I hope!), but I only concern about the research opportunities; some people say that condensed matter has a lot of job opportunities, but others say that it’s hard to get into a research position no matter which subfield you are and condensed matter has more applicants instead. In addition, some people say that all areas of physics/astronomy prepare students for future jobs, so students should follow their passion. Is there anyone who could tell me what I should do in this situation (I live in the U.S. so I prefer you talk about the U.S. programs)

Physics news on Phys.org
I would check with your advisor and anyone knowledgeable at your school in these areas. They would likely have the most relevant info.

Next I would check the American Physical Society at aps.org as they have a lot of info and stats on available jobs under the Careers in Physics tab and what you can do to prepare for them