Where should I start with computer science as a high school junior?

In summary: It doesn't really matter where you download it from, as long as you get it downloaded.Should it be free? Is it kinda just like downloading a game or something to my computer?Yes, it's kinda like downloading a game.
stephen8686
I am a high school junior who has completed the AP Physics C mechanics and E&M courses. I know that further down the road I will need to learn some programming. I have a little bit of time on my hands to get a start on this, but have no experience with computer programming. I have read I should first learn Fortran or C/C++, but others say fortran is dead and I should just start with matlab. Still others say to just go the normal route and start with python and javascript. What should I do? Also what is the best way for a complete novice to begin learning this? Does anyone know of any good online courses or books? Should I just wait a few years until I have a college course based on this?

Likes Stavros Kiri
Physics news on Phys.org
stephen8686 said:
I am a high school junior who has completed the AP Physics C mechanics and E&M courses. I know that further down the road I will need to learn some programming. I have a little bit of time on my hands to get a start on this, but have no experience with computer programming. I have read I should first learn Fortran or C/C++, but others say fortran is dead
Fortran is very much NOT dead, but I wouldn't start with this language.
stephen8686 said:
and I should just start with matlab.
I wouldn't recommend starting with matlab, either.
stephen8686 said:
Still others say to just go the normal route and start with python and javascript
Python, maybe. JavaScript, no.