Where Can I Learn About Artificial Neural Networks?

In summary, the conversation revolved around a programmer looking for resources to learn about Artificial Neural Networks. The person recommended a book called "AI Techniques for Game Programming" which dedicates a third of its content to neural networks. They also suggested websites such as ai-junkie.com, willamette.edu, and doc.ic.ac.uk which provide theoretical knowledge and practical guidance for creating neural networks. It was also mentioned that constructing a decent neural network requires complex feedback loops and references were given for further reading.
phiby
Hi,
I am a very experienced programmer in C & C++. I want to learn about Artificial Neural Networks. Can someone recommend good books or websites?

Technology news on Phys.org
yeah, I just read a book called ai techniques for game programming. Despite the title, the techniques discussed are very applicable to other types of programming. About 1/3 of the text is dedicated to artificial neural networks.

http://www.ai-junkie.com/ - really simple and straight forward with walk through to create simple feed forward nets using OOP in C++ (also uses genetic algorithms), lacks depth in that it totally skips everything not feed forward (ie backprop)
http://www.willamette.edu/~gorr/classes/cs449/intro.html - a lot of theory
http://www.doc.ic.ac.uk/~nd/surprise_96/journal/vol4/cs11/report.html - even more theory (particularly useful is Appendix B, I thought)

You need complex feedback loops to construct a decent neural net - TylerH gives some good references. It is no trivial task. The US defense department spent millions to devise the guidance system for 'smart' bombs.