What's the velocity vector to hit a ground target.

In summary, the programmer is trying to calculate a 3D velocity vector which will make a projectile follow an ARC between two points on the ground, firing with a fixed speed. Every shot comes out at the same speed. The angle in the xy plane is given by tan\phi, and the angle in world space is given by phi. The equation for the velocity v can be found by solving for x and y using the coordinates for the target, and then substituting in the values for v.
glenrhodes
I'm a computer programmer, but I'm having trouble with this one. I need help figuring out how to calculate a 3D velocity vector which will make a projectile follow an ARC between two points on the ground, firing with a fixed speed.

I have a cannon at point a (x, y, z)
I have a target on the ground at point b (x, y, z)

I'm trying to figure out vx, vy, vz so that the cannonball will land exactly on point b. There is no wind resistance. Gravity and muzzle velocity are fixed. Every shot comes out at the same speed. What vx, vy and vz would cause a projectile fired from point a to arc up and then down to hit point b precisely?

Thanks very much,
Glen

Physics news on Phys.org
Ok, I'm going to take a shot at this one.

There are two angles involved here, one in the xy plane and one that controls the angle at which the cannonball is shot. The one in the xy plane is given by
[tex]\tan\phi=\frac {y_b-y_a} {x_b-x_a}[/tex]
All this equation is telling you to do is point the cannon at the target.

To work out the vertical angle at which to fire is a bit harder, so we can reduce it to a two dimensional problem.For an angle [tex]\Theta[/tex], velocity [tex]v[/tex] and gravitational acceleration [tex]g[/tex] the cannonball will follow a parabola given by the DEs
[tex]
\frac {dy} {dt} = v\sin\theta -gt[/tex]
[tex]\frac {dx} {dt} = v\cos\theta
[/tex]

Eliminating time gives

[tex]
y=x\tan\theta -\frac {gx^2} {2v^2}\sec^2\theta[/tex]