What's the EE experience like?

In summary: I don't know about now, but it seems like you can switch majors relatively easily at most colleges.2. A majority of my classmates had engineering internships. I don't know about now, but back then it was something that was really important for getting a good job. I think it was really helpful to have that experience.3. I did not go to graduate school. I think it would have been a good idea, but I'm really happy with the job I am currently doing.4. Getting a job in management is not as hard as one might think. You just need to have good organizational skills and be able to prove yourself.5. I don
magikarp14
This is my first time posting here, so pardon any faux pas I make. I'm a rising high school senior considering a career in EE as I apply to schools in the fall. I just had a few questions about the journey to a career in EE.

1. What was the college experience like? Is it easy to switch your majors? Did you have the freedom to explore a double-major or minor in the humanities? How intensive were the courses and projects?
2. What percentage of your peers did internships? Were they paid internships? When did they occur? When did you intern and what did you gain from your experience?
3. How was graduate school, if you chose to go? Was it similar or different to undergraduate work? How did it prepare you for your career? Can you switch to a CS or ME career after graduating?
4. How does one get a job in management? What kind of schooling or skills are needed?
5. What kind of trends are happening in the industry? Is there any shift in jobs, salary, fields?

I'm sorry that was so long! Thank you in advance for your replies!

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
My college experience ended over 20 years ago, so I'll refrain from answering questions 1, 2, and 3.