What's algebraic geometry good for?

• Thread starter AdrianZ
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Geometry
In summary, Algebraic geometry is the study of polynomial equations from a geometric perspective. It allows for the transformation of geometric problems into algebraic problems and vice versa. This field has applications in pure mathematics, applied mathematics, and physics, and is often considered to be the bridge between geometry and algebra. It is a two-way dictionary between these two areas of mathematics, with the goal of using geometric intuition to solve algebraic problems and vice versa. There are many books available on algebraic geometry for undergraduate students, but it is recommended to have a strong foundation in algebra and geometry before delving into this field.
AdrianZ
I'm currently studying abstract algebra from Herstein's interesting book "Topics in algebra", I've learned different definitions so far and I've solved most of the problems covered in the book. I've so far studied groups, subgroups of them, normal subgroups, quotient groups, isomorphism theorems, products of groups, conjugacy classes and the conjugacy class equation and I've understood theorems like Cauchy theorem, but so far I've excluded Sylow theorem from my group theory knowledge because I find a bit hard to for self studying. In rings, I've got acquainted with basic definitions and I've gone further and realized that every domain can be extended to a field and I've understood results like R/M is a field if and only if M is a maximal ideal provided that R is a commutative ring with a multiplication identity element. I've also studied the ring of polynomials with coefficients in F from Herstein's "topics in algebra" and Hoffman-Kunze linear algebra book.
Today I was studying Euclidean rings and I found the subject very beautiful and subtle and I guess by the end of today I'll try to solve some problems on Euclidean rings.