What type of EE should I pursue?

• Thread starter SirR3D
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Ee Type
In summary, someone who is good at mathematics and physics is advised to pursue microwave/RF engineering because it is a lot of hands on work and has a lot of practical applications.
SirR3D
Hello,
I am in 4th year electronics and telecommunications. I am really good at mathematics and physics so I was thinking to go for microwave/RF engineering which I also hear is the hardest of all forms of engineering. The thing is everyone in this field which works as an engineer (not a professor) tells me it's barely mathematics and it's a lot of hands on and it's all about practical experience. Which I don't have very much of.

For this reason I am also considering Signal Processing because of the math heaviness it has and I also like the idea of being in a domain which has applications EVERYWHERE. I don't love programming as much as actually making a circuit, but I don't hate it either. Anyway, it's mostly MATLAB and C and I am ok with those two.

The master degree I will pursue is wireless and signal processing so I learn both, but I would like to start focusing on one of them from right now and start making some designs of my own in the respective fields.

Another question I have is : Is it worth going to Munchen to get my master degree at TUM ? I am from Romania and the Master course "advance wireless technology" Is held by the best professors in my country and even though my university is nr1 in Romania, it's still nowhere in the top rankings. Probably because of it's very low research or something.

I had an internship at Infineon Technologies in IC design, but I find it a lot less sciencey than RF and DSP, so I won't go this way even though I have to admit IC design has it's own beauty.

Physics news on Phys.org