What to do with a physics degree?

In summary, the conversation is about a high school student who plans to take AP Physics and Calculus in junior year and wants to go to college for a masters in physics but is unsure of what specific field. The student is also interested in attending MIT or WPI, but doesn't want to become a teacher. They are seeking advice on potential jobs in physics and what field would be best to major in. The conversation also touches on theoretical physics, computational physics, and the transferable skills gained from a physics degree. There is also a mention of interest in aerospace design.
chuckd1356
I am a sophomore in high school, and I will be taking AP Physics my Junior year along with Calculus. I want to go to college to get my masters in some field of physics, but I am not sure what. I am very good at math, and a lot of my previous classes went much too slow for me. My goal is to get accepted and attend MIT (and WPI as a backup).

I don't want to teach, but it would be fun. I am looking to learn what some good jobs would be with a physics degree. I live in New England (not that it has too much relevance, but I would like a job near by).

Also, what's a good field to major in?

Thanks in advance, all comments are appreciated!

Physics news on Phys.org
Thanks for the help.

But, say I wanted to major in Theoretical Physics, is there really anything I can do?

Read. It will solve all problems

chuckd1356 said:
But, say I wanted to major in Theoretical Physics, is there really anything I can do?

Do you know how to flip burgers?

<ZapperZ runs and hides>

Zz.

ZapperZ said:
Do you know how to flip burgers?

<ZapperZ runs and hides>

Zz.

C'mon ZapperZ, he said theoretical physics, not string theory :-p .

<runs and hides w/ ZapperZ>