What subject am I looking for?

• Thread starter SrVishi
  • Start date
In summary, the individual is a university student who is interested in finding a math field to pursue. They initially thought mathematical logic would be the field, but are now considering other options due to the in-computability of consciousness. They are interested in applied mathematics and interdisciplinary work, but prefer to stay within the realm of mathematics. They are seeking advice on how to make a decision and have considered theoretical computer science as a potential option.
SrVishi
Hello. I recently asked a question about attending a grad school for logic, but now I am not so sure. I am trying to find a certain math field. As background, I am a university student. I really enjoy all math subjects equally, and to find what subject to go into, I wanted to go into the field that had what I thought were interesting applications. I really like the subjects of artificial intelligence/consciousness and just general modelling of consciousness like neural networks. At first, I was led to believe that mathematical logic would be the field, but various things like the proposed in-computability of consciousness (due to self-referential properties etc) made me reconsider. On the other hand, one article was saying about how researchers at Vanderbilt found graph theory necessary in modeling, so I am a little split. I would like to stay within mathematics, I like the theory and want to work in the theory. The only subject that I'm not as fond of is statistics. Can anyone help me. Sorry for this terribly written post (in an extreme rush). Thanks in advance for any response.

Physics news on Phys.org
If you care about applications, don't go into a pure math field like logic or graph theory. You might want to go into applied math, or find something interdisciplinary which allows you to work with actual neurologists or psychologists.