Cantilever Bending: Modeling Interaction of Yarn & Brush Ring

In summary, the problem is a bit more difficult than it seems. You need to calculate the inertia forces on different points on the hair due to an acceleration. You also need to account for the fact that the hair is not a rigid object.
Simon666
Is a well studied problem. I am a textiles engineer and am doing some work on modelling the interaction of the yarn with a brush ring (circular brush with hairs slowing the yarn down). You can easily calculate the deformation of a hair caused by a force perpendicular to the curve of the hair in 2D by dividing the hair in finite elements or finite volumes - as the deformation is rather big - and apply the classical formulas for a beam in bending to the elements. Piece of cake.

A bit more difficult: the yarn moving through the brush is a dynamic phenomenon, I also want to model inertia. When you move a rigid object with mass m an acceleration a in a certain direction, you know the force F = ma. However, when applying this on a hair in bending, the base of the hair is fixed and the yarn bends in the process, which corresponds to a translation and rotation of the different elements. Anyone an idea of how to calculate the inertia force caused by an acceleration of a point on the hair perpendicular to the curve of the hair in 2D, or of the inertia force of a beam in bending or something? An idea how and where to start?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
It's been a long time since physics class, I've been wondering something.

Say you have a rod with length L and mass M fixed on one end, divided in n elements (*) with mass m = M/L and accelerate the free end downwards with an acceleration a, than I would like to know the inertia force F. I tend to think that the acceleration of a point at a distance r from the fixed end will experience an acceleration a*r/L, so I would have to make the sum of m*r/L for all elements obtaining M/2.