What ONE Physics topic would you choose to study and why?

In summary: I’m currently in second year of engineering and I’ve been struggling to find my place. Part of it is that I’m still trying to get my head around the mathematics behind things and I don’t feel like I have a firm grasp on it yet. But I also feel like I’m not learning a lot about the physical world. I’ve been doing some reading on engineering design and I’ve been trying to learn about thermodynamics and material properties, but it’s difficult because I find it hard to visualise what’s being talked about. I find it frustrating because I want to be able to applied what I’m learning in practical situations, but I
bigmike94
If you was restricted to only studying one physics topic for the rest of your life what would it be and why?

Don’t overthink it by trying to determine what I mean by topic etc just tell me your favourite subject and why do you like it so much 😃

Physics news on Phys.org
bigmike94 said:
If you was restricted to only studying one physics topic for the rest of your life what would it be
Accelerator and beam physics.
bigmike94 said:
and why?
Just because I love it, more than any other sub-field?

Likes topsquark
Dynamic systems (classical physics/engineering), both linear and non-linear. I don't know why, maybe familiarity since that was my graduate work.

Likes Math100, PhDeezNutz, bigmike94 and 1 other person
QFT. I don't really know why, I'm just fascinated by it. And I'm basically not interested in much of anything bigger than a proton.

-Dan

Likes vanhees71, PhDeezNutz, weirdoguy and 1 other person
Mine used to be GR, then later I shifted to QM+QFT. Now I'm back to GR + Galactic Dynamics + Cosmology because there seems to be more unknown fundamental physics hidden therein which might plausibly be discoverable. Probably easier than trying to prove existence theorems in general QFT. :oldwink:

Likes vanhees71, bigmike94, topsquark and 1 other person
topsquark said: