What materials, if any, are transparent to Long Wave IR?

In summary, Shane found a variety of thin plastic films that are transparent to mid-wavelength and long-wavelength infrared radiation. He tested them by covering a bare target with them and found that some of them blocked the radiation. He also tested them in the FLIR Scout PS and found that they all blocked the radiation.
shane2
More specifically, if I have a 100 degree F hot rock in an insulated box with reflective sides and I want it to radiate it's heat away to cooler outer space at night through its open top, what type of material or film could I cover the box with that would assure no air passed in or out, but that would not impede the rock radiating its long wave IR?

Physics news on Phys.org
You're looking for transmission of mid-wavelength and long-wavelength infrared, 3 to 15 micrometers.
fig-4-cmi.gif

If you can keep things dry, a thin sheet of salt (Sodium Chloride) or Potassium Bromide would work.
But Zinc Selenide would be more practical.
$60 on ebay. http://www.ebay.com/itm/like/262478291062?lpid=82&chn=ps&ul_noapp=true

Very interesting, .Scott, thank you!

Expensive materials to cover more than just a few square inches to initially test it.

Has me wondering now if practical way radiant heat from rock inside reflective box could be effectively concentrated
to go through a smaller aperture holding such a material?

Of course, doing that would, by itself, greatly reduces air flow in/out of box which was the original need for it, too.

While I've got you, let me also ask two related questions, specific to long wave IR emission and reflection properties.

I know they are largely the same for both long and short waves, paint rock black, have sides of box silver or shiny aluminum.

But, to really max out both radiating emission and reflective sides, is there anything more specific to long waves that'd enhance effects?