What Jobs Can I Get with a Degree in Pure Mathematics?

In summary, studying pure math in university can lead to jobs in research and teaching at colleges or universities. Other potential job opportunities include programming, human resources, marine security analysis, environmental engineering, and technical writing. While a degree in computer science may focus more on programming skills, a math degree can offer a strong foundation in analytical and theoretical skills that can be applied to a variety of fields. Additionally, the attention to detail and problem-solving skills developed in studying math can also be beneficial in other industries.
kelvin1018
i am now studying pure maths in uni. is it possible for someone to tell me wht kind of jobs would pure maths lead to? i believe it would be some jobs tht requires analytical and theorectical skill. bt is tht any exact examples pleasE?

Mathematics news on Phys.org
If you are going into really "pure" math, you can pretty much expect to wind up in a college or university. There are some government agencies that do pure research but those are usually temporary positions filled by university faculty. That doesn't necessarily mean teaching- many universities have pure "research" faculty who do little or no teaching- just research. However, you had better be ready to "pay your dues" teaching undergraduate courses while publishing enough to get those jobs!

All that said, college teaching, even at a small, non-research college is not at all a bad job!

yea but is there anything besides research and teaching really?