What is to gain from colliding protons?

In summary, the reason protons are used in colliders instead of electrons is because they are easier to accelerate to high energies. Additionally, proton colliders are better suited for making high energy discoveries while electron colliders are better for precision measurements. When colliding protons at high energies, scientists are looking for new particles and interactions, such as the Higgs boson. Confined quarks and gluons within the protons are what actually collide and produce these new particles. When visiting the LHC, some suggested questions to ask could be about the technology used to accelerate the protons and how the detectors are able to identify and measure unknown particles.
jonohashmo
hi,
im new to the whole subject of particle physics. I've searched for a long time and couldn't find an answer to a very simple question. WHY PROTONS?? why did they spend 8 billion dollars to build a collider to collide protons? why not electrons for example? why do they think that colliding protons (and not electrons or antiprotons) will find the higgs particle?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
It turns out to be much harder to accelerate electrons to the same energies as we can do for protons. Because electrons are about 2000 times lighter than protons, when we use electrons in circular accelerators they lose much more energy to what is called synchrotron radiation. So in accelerators like the Large Hadron Collider, where the goal is to attain very high energy collisions, we prefer protons to electrons.

so basically the only reason is that itll be easier to accelerate? other than that i wouldn't have made a difference if it was electrons?

and thanks for the quick reply:)