What is this area of study called?

• Thread starter Goldenwheatfiel
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Area Study
In summary, the conversation discusses the curiosity and fascination of a freshman in Mechanical Engineering towards designing complex machines and mechanisms. They inquire about the process of decision-making and visualization in designing these machines, and seek resources on functional synthesis and machinery. The conversation also touches upon factors that drive a design, the use of ratios in building sets, and the study areas of kinematics and machine design in mechanical engineering. Overall, the conversation highlights the importance of good product design in creating successful and efficient machines.
Goldenwheatfiel
Hello all, I am a freshman enrolled in Mechanical engineering.
Growing up, I have always been fascinated by the LEGO technic toys and the real-life machines and wondered how do engineers design these machines and mechanisms.

When someone design a complex machine or a mechanism, how do they figure out the size of each components(gears, axle, pulleyes...etc) inside the machine? And how do they decide on what machine elements they are going to use and place them in which places inside the machine..etc ? Decisions on shape of each elements..etc
They must have the ability to see the big picture in the back of their mind and visualize the the whole mechanism working to achieve the desired functions.

As above, I want to know more on this area. But I do not know where to look for.
I asked a professor and he told me to look into synthesis or machinery.

Help would be greatly appreciated!

Engineering news on Phys.org
I found this pdf on functional synthesis where it goes into teaching computers how to be architects. I imagine a similar idea is used when designing machinery.

http://catdir.loc.gov/catdir/samples/cam033/2001025164.pdf