What is the tension on the elevator cable?

In summary, The tension in the cable when the elevator is accelerating upwards at 1.2 m/s^2 is equal to the mass of the elevator multiplied by the sum of the acceleration due to gravity and the upward acceleration of the elevator. This is because the cable is providing an additional force to counteract the elevator's upward acceleration. Another way to calculate this tension is by subtracting the force of gravity from the net force acting on the elevator.
kyletheskater

Homework Statement

An empty elevator of mass 2.7x10 (3) kg is pulled upward by a cable at an acceleration of 1.2 m/s (2)

a) What is the tension in the cable?
b) What would be the tension in the cable if it was accelerating downward at 1.2 m/s (2)?
c) What would be the tension in the cable if it was moving with a constant velocity of 0.50m/s?

Homework Equations

So far as I know,
F=m x a

The Attempt at a Solution

I am pretty new to physics and I've been doing alright so far but these elevator tension questions are killing me. I actually have no idea where to go. When I worked it out (probably not right) I found the cable to have more tension in the downwards acceleration rather than upwards. I'm pretty sure I'm wrong I just need someone more experienced to tell me so. I would be really greatful for any help! Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
Here are a couple hints (I hope they help):

- If the elevator was in free fall (accelerating downwards only due to gravity), the cable would not be exerting any force on the elevator.
- Also, if the elevator was just hanging there (not going up or down), the cable would have to exert how much force?
- If the first two hints helped, think about how much MORE or LESS force is required to get the elevator to accelerate up or down at the rates given

So when the elevator is stationary the forces would be equal since it is not accelerating. When it's accelerating upwards the cable should have more tension right?