What is the sum of multiple probabilities

In summary, the probability of at least one out of ten independent assets failing is 65.1322%, while the probability of all ten failing is 1E-10.
Observeraren
If I have an asset that has a 10% chance to fail and I have ten of these assets in a basket, then what is the chance that one will fail in this basket? 10%?:partytime: What is the chance of 10 failing? 0,01%?
Please also explain in some laymans terms. I am a total noob when it comes to mathematics.
This forum has helped me alot, thanks guys!:bow:

Physics news on Phys.org
It is easier to start with the question: what is the probability that none will fail? Assuming the failures of these assets are independent of each other, then the probability that none will fail is [tex]q=0.9^{10}[/tex]. The probability that at least one will fail =p=1-q.
Using independence again, the probability that all will fail is [tex]0.1^{10}[/tex]. I'll leave the arithmetic for you.

Likes Observeraren
mathman said:
It is easier to start with the question: what is the probability that none will fail? Assuming the failures of these assets are independent of each other, then the probability that none will fail is [tex]q=0.9^{10}[/tex]. The probability that at least one will fail =p=1-q.
Using independence again, the probability that all will fail is [tex]0.1^{10}[/tex]. I'll leave the arithmetic for you.

Taking into consideration that all these assets are independent from each other, is the probability that two will fail (p=1-q)/2?

So the probability that none will fail is q=0.3486784401%? and the probability that at least one will fail is p=0,65132156%?
This is magic to me I am not able to comprehend how this is possible that 10 of these assets with a 10% risk when summed up have a smaller risk than when alone.:woot::woot:

Is there something I am not getting now? The probability that one will fail is not px100?

Wow. :woot:

Last edited: