What is the significance of thermal expansion coefficients in material research?

In summary, the conversation is discussing the thermal expansion coefficients of alumina and stainless steel and how they relate to each other when joined together through atomic layer deposition. The difference in expansion rates between the two materials can cause stress and strain, potentially leading to failure. The conversation also provides resources for understanding the basics of material science and calculating stress levels in dissimilar material combinations.
dstahn
Hi all,

I am very new to physics and have little to no background in engineering, however I am a biochemistry major whoe somehow wound up in material research lab.

One thing I am having trouble understanding the thermal expansion coefficients, how they relate to each other and which one I should be using. I am going to be putting a layer of alumina on stainless steel using atomic layer deposition. The heat this process is at is 180C. The thermal coefficients that I found for these two are 17.3 and 8.1. I don't really know what this means or how to decide if the difference between the two matters.

Can someone help explain it to me?

Thanks in advance

Science news on Phys.org
Not a simple answer - the specifics take some work. Google something like 'calculating thermal stress between dissimilar materials' and take a look. The idea is that the joined materials expand at different rates when temperature changes, so they pull against each other, sometimes causing failure, especially when the temp changes many times in succession.

Generating a model to predict the specific outcome for a particular situation is often an involved procedure.

Thanks for your input I'l try starting there and see if I can't find an equation to compare the two.

This is a very thin film deposited on a relatively thick substrate ?

Nidum said:
This is a very thin film deposited on a relatively thick substrate ?