What is the significance of the infinite square well width in quantum mechanics?

In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of the infinite square well in quantum mechanics. It is mentioned that the boundaries of the well can be expressed as -L/2 and L/2 or 0 and L, with the width of the well being L in both cases. The result of solving the Schrodinger equation provides the wave function, which can be multiplied by its complex conjugate to obtain the probability density. Integrating this density between two points gives the probability of finding the particle between those points. The conversation also clarifies that the boundaries of the well can be any two points, either on the boundaries or within the well itself. The particle is always inside the well, and choosing the boundaries as end points will result in a
Miquelyn10
I am new to quantum mechanics so I am just trying to get an understanding of the infinite square well. I have been reading a lot of material and I see a lot of times that the barriers of the well say -L/2 and L/2. I know that outside the well to the left is -infinity and to the right is infinity. Does the left barrier always have to be zero? The examples I am finding all have it that when. Can you just arbitrarily pick the width of the well? Also, the result you get from the well is the probably the particle is going to be in that spot inside the well, correct? Does that mean if I have my barriers at 1 and 2 the result will be the probably that it will be between 1 and 2 or will it actually give me where between one and two it is going to be? Thanks for all your help in advance!

Physics news on Phys.org
I'm having a hard time following what your actual questions are but I'll give it a go. I'll try to paraphrase your questions above my answers (in bold). If I do not have your question correct, please tell me.

1. Some books have the well spanning from -L/2 to L/2, others from 0 to L. Does it matter?