What is the significance of 'i' in quantum computation notation?

In summary, The conversation discusses the confusion regarding the appearance of the letter 'i' in brackets [1, i] in a quantum state and its connection to complex numbers. The person asking the question is a beginner in quantum computation and is seeking an explanation for the notation. The response explains that the 'i' represents the square root of -1 and is used in column vector notation to denote the components of the vector. It also emphasizes the importance of understanding complex numbers in quantum mechanics. The conversation ends with the person expressing their gratitude for the explanation.
Quark Effect
TL;DR Summary
The meaning of notation 'i'?
Hi guys, I am currently having some difficulties with this quantum state. I don't entirely understand what that letter 'i' means, where it comes from and why it appears in brackets [1, i]. Shouldn't there be a '0' instead?
Formula q.png

I am an absolute beginner in quantum computation. I've been following a tutorial for beginners while this quantum state appeared with the letter 'i' and there's no further explanation where it comes from and what it means.

Physics news on Phys.org
Quark Effect said:
I don't entirely understand what that letter 'i' means

It's the square root of ##-1##.

Likes Quark Effect
Quark Effect said:
I am an absolute beginner

Thread level changed to "B" accordingly.

PeterDonis said:
It's the square root of ##-1##.
mfb said:
You'll need to know complex numbers for everything in quantum mechanics.
Thanks a lot!

Quark Effect said:
why it appears in brackets [1, i]. Shouldn't there be a '0' instead?