What is the proof for this property of solutions?

• Thread starter ShayanJ
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Property
In summary: The point is that there is no one-size-fits-all answer to whether a function has a singularity or not.
ShayanJ
Insights Author
Gold Member
The Schrodinger equation is of the form [itex] \frac{d^2 \psi}{dx^2}+[\varepsilon-v(x)] \psi=0[/itex].
In a lecture, the lecturer said that if we have in a point [itex] x_0 [/itex] , [itex] \psi(x_0)=\psi'(x_0)=0 [/itex], then [itex] \psi(x)=0 [/itex].(for a smooth [itex]v(x)[/itex]!)
Can anyone give a proof of this?
Is it only for a equation of the form given above?
Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
I'm new to this but I'm assuming you're referring to the time-independent non-relativistic equation. Let [itex]\psi(x_0)[/itex] represent a potential value where kinetic is 0. Let [itex]\psi'(x_0)[/itex] represent kinetic value where potential is 0. Iff [itex]\psi(x_0)[/itex] and [itex]\psi'(x_0)[/itex] are two separable wave functions that subscribe to all applicable axioms of [itex]\psi(x)[/itex], [itex]\psi[/itex] will include all potential and kinetic components. A rough analogy could be drawn from binary code. Anyway I hope this helped steer you in the right direction if it did anything at all. Everything I wrote came from a purely logical standpoint.

CubicFlunky77 said: