What is the probability of each type of ball going in a pipe?

• Thread starter basantide
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Probability
In summary, you are trying to figure out the most likely combination of a particle and a pipe, given that the particle has gone into a particular pipe and the pipe has a particular characteristic.
basantide
Hi All

I am not a maths major (I have a engineering PhD) and am struggling with a probability problem that I need to include in one of my research problems.

Below is the a very general description of the type of the problem I am solving (not including the physics engineering equations etc behind it)

Lets say I have 2 types of balls. Ball A and Ball B. I have 400 balls of Ball A and 100 of Ball B.
I have have 50 pipes, P1 (25 pipes), P2 (20 pipes) and P3 (5 pipes) all with different characteristics (lets say different diameters)

What I want to calculate is the probability of each type of ball going in a pipe.

Right off the bat I know the there is a 80% probability of Ball A going in a pipe and 20% that of Ball B due to their total numbers (or frequency). But where I am getting confused is how to choose the pipes? OR what are the probability of the Ball X and P_X combined?

Would it be 80-20 ratio of balls in each type of pipe? Like, in case of P2 (20 pipes), would 16 pipes get Ball A and remaining 4 get Ball B?

Please help.

Basantide

Physics news on Phys.org
To complete the question you need to describe the procedures involved, particularly ball selection and pipe selection.

Excluding the procedures involved (not recommended), think of the probability of any ball entering a pipe. Now, once you have that figured out, factor in ball color. It should be a union of the two probabilistic sets:

P(Pipe) U P(Color).