What is the maximum mass of a rocket when its momentum and energy are optimized?

In summary, The conversation discusses a problem involving a rocket in free space and its maximum momentum and energy. The Tsiolkovsky rocket equation and the relationship between force and momentum are suggested as starting points for solving the problem. It is noted that the problem involves a variable mass system, which can be challenging to handle. A tutorial on variable mass systems is also provided as a helpful resource.
derrickb
Before I ask the question, just want to say hi to everyone and introduce myself. Name's Derrick and I'm a sophomore engineering physics major at WPI. I'm currently in an Intermediate Mechanics course. Onto the problem:

Homework Statement

A rocket in free space that starts at rest with total mass M ejects exhaust gas at a given speed u. What is the mass of the rocket(including unused fuel) when its momentum is maximum? What is the mass when its energy is maximum? [use E=.5mv^2 for energy]

Homework Equations

Mv=P
E=.5mv2
v=v0+uln(m0/m) (maybe?)

The Attempt at a Solution

Mv=0
-mexhaustu+(M-mexhaust)v=0
(M-mexhaust)v=mexhaustu
v=(mexhaust/(M-mexhaust))u
I'm stuck here. Do I take the derivative of v?

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi Derrick, Welcome to Physics Forums.

Why not look up the Tsiolkovsky rocket equation and start there? Use the formulas for momentum and kinetic energy and a bit of calculus to maximize things as required.

I would start with the relationship F = dp/dt where F is the force applied to the rocket and p its momentum.

You know dp is the same (except for sign) of the rocket and the expelled mass. The change in momentum of the expelled gas is easy to express, therefore so is F.

Then F = (d/dt)[(M + m)v] and you can get a diff. eq. giving v(m). M is the mass of the rocket alone and m is the on-board mass of the expelling matter. Remember, dm/dt ≠ 0.

Then momentum of the rocket is (M + m)v(m) and you can maximize this w/r/t m.