What Is the Initial Velocity Formula for Projectile Motion in Game Development?

ENDMENTIn summary, the programmer is seeking a formula to calculate the proper initial velocity for a given angle to hit a target a certain x,y distance away in a video game. They do not want to use time in the formula and have come across the "gunnery law" but could not find the formula. They are asking for help from those familiar with physics.
bmf59
I'm writing a video game. For the AI i need to be able to calculate the proper initial velocity for a given angle to hit a target a certain x,y distance away. I don't want to use time in the formula. Does anyone know a formula for doing this? I found something about a "gunnery law" that looked similar to what i needed, but i couldn't find the formula. Any help would be appreciated since I'm a programmer and not much of a physics person. Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
bmf59 said:
I'm writing a video game. For the AI i need to be able to calculate the proper initial velocity for a given angle to hit a target a certain x,y distance away. I don't want to use time in the formula. Does anyone know a formula for doing this? I found something about a "gunnery law" that looked similar to what i needed, but i couldn't find the formula. Any help would be appreciated since I'm a programmer and not much of a physics person. Thanks.

If the target is at the same height as the launch, you can use:

[tex]y= vsin\theta t - \frac{1}{2}gt^2[/tex]

where: [tex]t = \frac{x}{vcos\theta}[/tex]

If x = R (range) and y = 0, you have:

[tex]vRtan\theta = \frac{gR^2}{v^2cos^2\theta}[/tex]

[tex]v^3= \frac{gR}{tan\theta cos^2\theta}[/tex]

[tex]v = \sqrt[3]{\frac{gR}{sin\theta cos\theta}}[/tex]

AM