What is the gravitational force on the 52[kg] mass

In summary, the gravitational force on the 52[kg] mass due to the mass at 12[m]jˆ is −1.0x10^-10[N]ˆı + 2.5x10^-10[N]jˆ.
heartshapedbox

Homework Statement

A particle of mass 52[kg] is at 5.0[m]ˆi a particle of mass 13[kg] is at 12[m]j, and a particle of mass 13[kg] is at −12[m]jˆ. What is the gravitational force on the 52[kg] mass due to the mass at 12[m]jˆ?

answer: −1.0 × 10−10[N]ˆı + 2.5 × 10−10[N]jˆ

Homework Equations

F2on1=Gm1m2/r^2

The Attempt at a Solution

Separated into components...

i component) f2on1=(6.67x10^-11)(52)(13)/5^2
= -1.0x10^-10 this is correct

j component) shouldn't this be solved in the same manner?
f2on1=(6.67x10^-11)(52)(13)/12^2
=3.13x10^-10

What am i missing from solving the y component?

Physics news on Phys.org
I have little experience with gravity problems dealing with more than two bodies but in this case I think that it might work at least in my case to draw the particle positions on graph paper and proceed to solve for the magnitude of gravity between each body which could then be broken up into horizontal and vertical vector components

Likes heartshapedbox
Kaura said:
I have little experience with gravity problems dealing with more than two bodies but in this case I think that it might work at least in my case to draw the particle positions on graph paper and proceed to solve for the magnitude of gravity between each body which could then be broken up into horizontal and vertical vector components

This is what i have done :) The y component is giving me a hard time but I have found the x component. j stands for y and i stands for x.

The "r" in the gravitational force formula is the distance between the masses. You can't use individual component distances. Just think what would happen, for example, if two masses had the same ##\hat{i}## component but different ##\hat{j}## components. Would the gravitational force in the ##\hat{i}## direction be infinite?