What is the formula for electrical power in a DC circuit?

In summary, the conversation is about deriving the formula for power in DC circuits, which is P = I.Vab, where Vab is the potential difference between two terminals of a circuit element. The speaker also discusses their previous studies and attempts to use the formula P = dW/dt to derive the formula P = I.Vab. However, they realize that it would be more advantageous to use a differential charge dq moving a distance x in the electric field E, and this approach is more correct since there are multiple charges involved. They also mention a first-principles approach to Ohm's law.
ximath
I am studying DC circuits and trying to derive formula for power; that is in fact
[tex]P = I.Vab[/tex]

where Vab is the potential difference between two terminals of a circuit element.

From my previous studies, I know that.

[tex] P = dW / dt [/tex]

I assume that for a small interval, dt, a single charge q has a small displacement , dx.

Then;

[tex]dW = E q dx[/tex]

where E is magnitude of the electric field.

Hence, from the formula above,

[tex] P = E q dx / dt [/tex]

This is all I could come up with. I want to go on with this idea to prove

[tex] P = I Vab [/tex]

I know I need to substitute dq somewhere (to get I ) , somehow.. Simply replacing q with dq does not seem to work; it leads to an incorrect formula. (I find P = I dV ; I guess, if I do that.)

Physics news on Phys.org
ximath said:
...I assume that for a small interval, dt, a single charge q has a small displacement , dx.

Then;

[tex]dW = E q dx[/tex]

where E is magnitude of the electric field.

It would be more advantageous to assume that you have a differential charge dq moving a distance x in the electric field E. (And does dq/dt ring a bell?) Also I believe this approach is more correct, since you have numerous charges (instead of a single one) and you're attempting to find their aggregate behaviour when you use Ohm's law.