What is the formula for determining the force of impact in a physics problem?

In summary, the force of the impact can be determined by finding the average force during the impact, which is equal to the mass multiplied by the average acceleration. The speed changes by an amount v in time t, so the average acceleration can be calculated. However, if you do not know how to calculate the average acceleration, then you may not be able to solve the problem.
pantufino
So this is my first time posting, but I´ll do my best to be clear (be advised, I have translated the names of the variables from portuguese to inglish so sorry if it is confusing)
Today I was asked to solve a physics problem in class, which I had never solved anything else like it before and I was never really good at physics but whatever. the problem is as it follows:

we have a rock with a with of 600g, which was thrown into a watermelon. The impact lasted for 0,01 sec. and the rock hit the watermelon at a speed of 15m/sec.
(now this is where it gets fun)
with this data you must determine the force of the impact.

After asking for the help of the teacher she told me to do this:
so we have the delta symbol and a "t" = 0,01sec. (wich I believe it is time diference or so)
the initial velocity is = 15m/sec.
the vinal velocity is = 0m/sec.
the mass is = 600g.
the resulting force (Rf / (Fr in portuguese) formula is is Fr = (mass) x (acceleration) or Fr = m.a
wich she told me to begin the problem with that formula, myself, not being a person of physics, failed to do so.
Initialy, I started by calculating the preassure, which was impossible because I didn't knew the area of impact neither the force.
She has refused to help to solve it, and I have zero Idea how to do so. I anyone understood what the problem is ans is willing to lend a hand, it would be great.
thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org
pantufino said: