What is the Cardinality of Sets X, Y, and A, B, C?

In summary, the cardinality of set A is 10, the cardinality of set B is 48, and the cardinality of set C is 12. The '|' symbol in set C represents a condition or rule for the elements in the set. The sets are solved by applying the rules and principles of set theory, such as the Cartesian product and the concept of modulus.
Aeonitis
Hey guys, this is my first post, (Hi) was just wondering if i could get your help. I'm studying for my repeats and you guys can save me.

If X = {1,2,3,4}, Y = {2,4,6} what is the cardinality of the following sets?

(i) A = {x|x mod 2 = 0 and 0 <=x<=20}
(ii) B = X * X * Y
(iii) C = {(x,y)|x ≠ y and x,y ∈ X}

Please explain your train of thought in solving this. I am trying hard to understand the right way to approach this question quickly, Thank you for your time guys...

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
I've tried them out, with the following answers:-

(i) A = {2,4,6,8,10,12,14,16,18,20}, Therefore A has a cardinality of 10 (elements).
(ii) B = Cartesian Product of 'X times X times Y' or better yet '4 by 4 by 3' elements each to give a total of 48 in cardinality?!
(iii) C = UNSOLVED!

I want to make sure someone agrees with me having the right answers since you're the pros

I really want to know what the '|' symbol stands for or means, as in 'x|x'. Hard to specifically search for in a book.

Figured it out. I will post the full answer for future questioneers

(i) A = {2,4,6,8,10,12,14,16,18,20}, Therefore A has a cardinality of 10 (elements).
(ii) B = Cartesian Product of 'X times X times Y' or better yet '4 by 4 by 3' elements each to give a total of 48 in cardinality?!

(iii) C = {(x,y)|x ≠ y and x,y ∈ X}