What is the best way to model bending stresses in a balsa structure?

• Thread starter Glad2
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Analysis
In summary, the conversation is about a project assigned to design a structure made from balsa that can break at an applied force of 200N. The design chosen is unique and the top member is planned to break under the force. The question is how to best model the bending stresses at the top of the design, and there are two suggestions given - using finite element analysis or a beam theory approach. Both methods have their pros and cons, but the former is more accurate while the latter is simpler.
Glad2
hi,

I'm a second year Mechanical Engineer studying at Manchester University

We have been assigned a project to design a structure made from balsa to break at an applied force of 200N (fig. balsa loads). In the pictures is the design we have decided upon (not least because it does not resemble the generic design chosen by many others). The question I am asking is how to best model the bending stresses that will occur at the top of the design (fig. balsa x-sect), as the widths and thickness's of the balsa sections need to be (obviously) justified and decided upon. I have attempted parallel axis theorem but with the vast number of variables and epic tables its proving very difficult.
It is designed such that the top member is a planned obsolescence and is the only member that breaks at the 200N. Does anyone know of any neat tips that I could use to make the analysis easier, I have already made some simple assumptions (such as all members are rectangular)
N.B this is not a finished model, there will be beams between the two parallel legs etc. but as far as the top is concerned it is just conveying the idea of how the top will work (not the mechanics of how we will join the members together)

Any help is seriously seriously appreciated, I have been attempting this for ages (with little help from team-mates)James

Attachments

• balsal load.jpg