What is the Best Object-Oriented Language for Scientific Computing?

In summary, the individual is a first year theoretical physics master considering focusing on scientific simulations. They currently use C for simulations but are interested in learning an object oriented language for easier implementation of parallel programming and visualization of results. They mention having taken a Java course in the past and are considering learning C++ as it is widely used. They are also interested in having flexibility in other areas. A suggestion is made to focus on C++ first and then branch out to other languages, specifically Python. The individual expresses concerns about Python potentially being too slow for their needs, but it is noted that there is a large engineering/scientific community and tools for scientific computing and visualization. It is also suggested that if Python is not fast enough, they can
Grieverheart
I'm in my first year of theoretical physics master and I'm considering of following the path of scientific simulations. At the moment I use C for my simulations. I would additionally like to learn an object oriented language. I followed a course in Java about 2 years ago, so that would be easier to learn again. What I generally need is an object oriented language with high performance, easy implementation of parallel programming and visualisation of results. Also I think I'm going to learn C++ since it's used everywhere, so I don't know if it's worth learning any additional object oriented language. I want to focus on the things I said above but I would like to have some flexibility in other areas too.
So, any suggestions?

Technology news on Phys.org
Why don't you focus on C++ first and then see if OOP comes easily to you. After that you can start branching out even more.

I wouldn't waste my time on C++ or that other language that tried to overcome C++ shortcomings (Java).

You should look into Python!