What is the Amperage Rating of a 3-Pronged Edison Plug

In summary, the standard three-pronged edison plug is rated at 15 amps and common house wiring is typically also rated at 15 or 20 amps. However, when designing a building, it is important to consider the maximum number of outlets on a circuit and the potential for continuous load on the equipment. It is recommended to follow code guidelines and be cautious with electricity to avoid potential hazards.
Juxt
I know this isn't quite what you mean when you say electrical engineering, but, how many amps is a standard three-pronged edison plug rated at? Also, what is common house wiring rated at?

I believe that a three-pronged plug is rated at 15 amps and that logically the wiring should be able to carry at least that. By my calculations then in the US with good ol' 120-volts you should be able to carry 1800 watts on a wall outlet.

I'm just a layman at electricity and I just wanted to be sure. As much as some people dream about it I don't want to burn down my school.

Engineering news on Phys.org
You're correct, most circuits in most buildings will carry 15 or 20 amps. If you try to pull more than that, you'll just pop the circuit breakers.

- Warren

Originally posted by Juxt
By my calculations then in the US with good ol' 120-volts you should be able to carry 1800 watts on a wall outlet.
Yes, but as you know, generally more than one outlet goes to the same breaker. When designing a building, you put a maximum of 10 outlets (depending on known usage) on a circuit and assume 180w per outlet.
If you know (for example) that an outlet supplies power to a window air conditioner, you put it on its own circuit.