What is teaching like in London?

• Thread starter mattmns
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Teaching
In summary, the conversation discusses the possibility of moving to London from the US, specifically in regards to teaching and general life in the city. It is noted that the weather in London is not extreme, with warm summers and mild winters. Football (soccer) is a popular sport in London, and there are also other sports teams and events. Teaching salaries in London are higher, but the cost of living is also high. The city has a diverse population and a lively nightlife. Overall, the conversation suggests that London is a desirable place to live, but it is recommended to visit first before making plans to move there permanently.
mattmns
I live in the US, but when I graduate I would like to move to the London area for a while, or even permanently. I am majoring in Math Education. What is teaching like in London? Good benefits(health), pay(compared to standard of living), etc? Also, what is general life like in London, weather, women, sports, etc? And finally, are the websites that have a domain of gov.uk (ie, teach.gov.uk) real govt sites for the UK? Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
Life in London: hmm, weather isn't that bad. In Summer it gets warm and hot, but not hot like 30 degrees C (more like mid 20s). It doesn't get too cold in Winter either, maybe the lowest is about -1 or -2 C and it rarely snows :(. Sports, well, this country is based around football (ie. soccer) so there are quite a few teams around. There's the London Towers basketball team (I think there's another team too, not sure) and of course Wimbledon. As for teaching, it depends where you go and of course on the individual teachers themselves. Oh and yes, those sites are official ones.

As for cost of living, you might have a shock there, but the pay is often proportionately higher.