Is Radical Idealism a Rejection of Mind-Independent Reality?

• Thread starter Len M
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Radical
In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of idealism and its various forms, specifically temperate idealism and radical idealism. The latter is defined as rejecting the notion of a "thing-in-itself" and instead focusing on intersubjective agreement and consciousness as the only ingredients for defining reality. The speaker also mentions the difficulty in applying these philosophical notions to social settings and questions whether Kant's philosophy can be attributed to radical idealism.
Len M
I am studying a particular physicist/philosopher and his views regarding reality outside of sentient beings. The term idealism is introduced and defined in his definition of terms, but I am a little confused over one of his specific variants of idealism that he defines, namely radical idealism. His definitions are as below in (1) and (2). The rest is entirely my interpretation.

(1) Within temperate idealism the “thing in its self” notion is held to be meaningful, in spite of the fact that the said “thing-in-itself” is considered unknowable.

(2) Within radical idealism, the “thing-in-its-self” notion is rejected.

Temperate idealism I can understand and relate to – a rock is what we perceive, but the “source” of that rock, whilst “existing” in some scientifically indefinable form within mind independent reality cannot be said to have a one to one (or even close to that – we just cannot quantify the correspondence) correspondence to our perception of the rock.