What is in demand, that I could machine, for a little extra cash?

• Thread starter OffTheRecord
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Machine
In summary, someone with Mechanical Engineering skills and access to a machine shop can make simple tools or a high-end, custom-made tool. People might be interested in buying such a tool, but they would need to be aware of the start-up costs and potential risks involved.
OffTheRecord
So I have a degree in Mechanical Engineering, access to a machine shop, and all the free scrap metal I want (steel or aluminum mostly). I also make perilously little income because I'm just a measly intern. I have a stash from my last job that is keeping me running until I can convince my employer to hire me on full time, but it's quickly running out. So I need some extra money. The question is, what on Earth do people need fabricated?

My first thought is tools. I'm currently building a combination drill-press/milling machine that could be converted to a saw if need be. I could also get a chunk of steel and make a hammer or chisel or even a screwdriver.

Any other ideas? Anyone know of a good market to get into?

Engineering news on Phys.org
OffTheRecord said:
So I have a degree in Mechanical Engineering, access to a machine shop, and all the free scrap metal I want (steel or aluminum mostly). I also make perilously little income because I'm just a measly intern. I have a stash from my last job that is keeping me running until I can convince my employer to hire me on full time, but it's quickly running out. So I need some extra money. The question is, what on Earth do people need fabricated?

My first thought is tools. I'm currently building a combination drill-press/milling machine that could be converted to a saw if need be. I could also get a chunk of steel and make a hammer or chisel or even a screwdriver.

Any other ideas? Anyone know of a good market to get into?

Some questions immediately come to mind: