What is FFT Frequency Resolution?

In summary, the FFT divides up a signal by frequency, but it does so in a discrete manner. The max frequency you can detect is determined by the sample rate. The highest frequency you can measure is determined by the sampling rate.
Spimon
Hi everyone,

Please excuse the somewhat basic question. I'm a mechanical engineering student a little out of my realm!
I'm doing some work with signal processing and have been given some data (a series of vibration measurements, out of interest).

This includes the following:

Note the following:
1. Recording Time Length (s): 5 seconds
2. FFT Frequency Resolution (1/s): 0.2 s
3. Sampling Rate (Hz): 100 Hz
4. Max frequency output from the FFT (Hz) (0.5*Sampling Rate): 50 Hz

I'm a little confused about the difference between #2 and #4 mean.
My understanding was that the max frequency output from the Fast Fourier Transform is a resolution and determines the smallest change in frequency that can be detected.

I'm quite unsure what FFT Frequency Resolution is...

Would someone kindly explain these terms in very simple words (mathematical derivations not required)?

Engineering news on Phys.org
The FFT divides the signal up by frequency, but it does so in a discrete manner. So you can think of the output as a bar chart where every bar represents the signal level of some frequency range. We call that range (or width of the bar or bin) the frequency resolution.

The max frequency output is determined by the sample rate. According to the Nyquist rate, the max frequency you can detect by sampling a signal is your sample rate/2.

So from the situation described above you would have a bar chart from 0 to 50Hz, where every bar in the chart was 5Hz wide.

Ah, makes a little more sense! Thanks so much :D

Somebody made a typo in #2. It should be 0.2 Hz, not 0.2 s. If the "somebody" wasn't you, the wrong units might be part of the confusion.