What happens when sound wave loses energy?

In summary, the conversation is about a high school student's project on sound absorbing material and how the absorption of sound affects its energy and frequency. The student shares results from their experiment measuring standing waves in a tube at 500 Hz and 1000 Hz frequencies. They also discuss a wiki graphic on sound volume and a formula for sound energy. The conversation concludes with a question about why the graph for 500 Hz looks different from the graph for 1000 Hz. The expert summarizer clarifies that sound energy is mainly determined by pressure, but frequency does play a role. The differences in the graphs may be due to various factors in the experiment.
darkmamon
I'm a high school student doing the project about sound absorbing material
When the sound is absorbed or loses its energy which of its value will change? pressure? wavelength? or frequency?
(at first I though that the sound wave will just lose its amplitude but after the result,It look like its frequency changes too)

This is the result from my experiment(measure the standing wave in the tube)
-500 Hz frequency : http://imgur.com/2Y2jCxD
(It looks weird on this frequency.my friend said this happens because of change in frequency)
-1000 Hz requency: http://imgur.com/oRRsRm8
Thank you very much for your answer

Physics news on Phys.org
fresh_42 said:
Have a look on this Wiki graphic:
https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lautstärke#/media/File:Akustik_db2phon.jpg
(vertical axis: pressure, horizontal axis: frequency, graphic lines: iso-volume)

The formula for energy can be found here:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sound_energy

Note: Volume is a human "psycho-acustic" term to describe amplitude or pressure in terms of perception.

so... from what i read in your link,It looks like the frequency is irrelevant from the sound energy.
That means the sound will have the same frequency if it loses the energy?