What happens when matter and antimatter collide?

In summary, when matter and antimatter annihilate, they release energy in the form of photons. The specific reaction depends on the type of particles involved, with electrons and positrons producing two gamma ray photons and proton and anti-proton collisions resulting in gamma ray photons and neutral mesons. However, in larger amounts, the initial reactions may not result in a 100% annihilation. High energy collisions can also produce varying outcomes. More information can be found online through sources such as Wikipedia and Google.
Rock987
Sorry I was unsure where to post this so I hope its ok posting it here.

I'm an aspiring author and looking to writing a book with a space/sci-fi theme. Now I understand a lot about antimatter but what I don't know is the exact reaction that happens or the conditions. What I would like to ask is this...

What reaction happens when matter and antimatter annihilate? Is this pure energy? Is there any kinetic force? Does this reaction get effected by changes in pressure, presence of a vacuum or within an atmosphere?

I'm trying to develop a realistic antimatter engine for my book I am writing, and would like to know the conditions and effects of antimatter and matter collisions.

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
Give one particle of matter annihilating with one particle of antimatter, everything is released ultimately in the form of photons. (At least for annihilations at rest or at low energies) For example, an electron and positron annihilation results directly in the production of two gamma ray photons. Proton-anti proton annihilation on the other hand produces a gamma ray photon and a neutral meson which then decay to two photons, or it can simply produce two gamma ray photons.