What happens to a spinning rod with a ball inside?

• Thread starter Adikshith Ojha
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Mechanics
In summary, the conversation discusses a hypothetical scenario involving a hollow rod and a ball inside it. The first question asks if the ball will remain in the centre or stick to one of the ends if the rod is given a spin on a table. The second question asks if the ball will stay in the centre if the rod is thrown vertically with a combined rotational and translational motion. The third question involves a scenario where the ball is not at the centre when the motion starts. The answers provided state that the ball will remain in the centre in both scenarios as long as the initial velocity of the rod is the same as that of the ball. However, the third scenario needs more clarification.
Adikshith Ojha
OK, this is not a homework problem, I was simply fooling around when I conjured this up. And I guess I must include that I'm only a beginner to physics so my knowledge is limited. Now, for the questions.