What exactly is a "rare event"? (Poisson point process)

In summary, the author found that the distribution of goals in a football match follows an exponential distribution, and that the probability of a goal occurring is proportional to the time since the last goal.
Livio Arshavin Leiva
These days I've been reading in the internet about the Poisson Distribution because that was a concept I couldn't manage to understand completely when I studied it, so since then I've been always quite curious about Poisson processes, and how there are a lot of natural phenomena (mostly the random ones) that can be very accurately described modeling them as Poisson processes. One of those multiple examples were the number of goals in a world cup football match, and this was very interesting to me because I love football and being able to relate it with probability and statistics in a formal way seemed to be fun. Then I started searching about the facts that permit modeling the goals as a poisson process. For example, one could plot the histogram of frequencies of certain number of events in a fixed time and compare with a Poisson distribution and with goals the fitting is very good. Also I saw, for example, that the time intervals between goals followed, as expected from a Poisson process, an exponential distribution. Not exactly exponential because right after a goal is scored there is a time where both teams in same way have "to digest" the goal, so for very short times (less than 5 minutes) the exponential fit was not good but after that very good. In the other hand, the distribution of the quantity of goals during a match (I mean, dividing the 90 minutes in subintervals of about 10 minutes and counting the total goals in each interval), expected as constant in a Poisson process, was approximately constant except for the "psychological" fact that in the beginning of the match were too few goals (both teams has to "settle on the field" first) and the late goals were too many. (Obv