What Direction Should Ship A Steer to Minimize Distance to Ship B?

In summary, Bob, your method will give you the closest distance between two points while taking into account their direction. However, if you do not know the direction, then you can use a relative velocity diagram to solve for the path angle between the two points.
thepopasmurf
I'm studying for an exam and this is one of the sample questions which I cannot figure out.

Homework Statement

Two ships A and B move with constants speeds 48 km/h and 60 km/h respectively. At a certain instant ship B is 30 km west of A and is traveling due south. Find:

i) The direction ship A should steer in order to get a close as possible to ship B.

Homework Equations

Vab = Va - Vb

The Attempt at a Solution

Well, Vb = 0i - 60j
Va = -48cosxi - 48sinxj
and therefore
Vab = -48cosxi + (60 - 48sinx)j

I have drawn diagrams to help but I can't figure out the right angle. I tried differentiation to find the lowest possible value for j (they are already horizontally across from each other) but I got 1 for an answer which I know is not correct. Any advice.

Physics news on Phys.org
Have you tried relating each 'line' between objects as vector?

The Bob

I'm sorry, I'm not sure what you mean.

When you drew your diagrams, you must have had a series of velocity vectors relating to the velocities of the ships. By using x = vt you could also obtain position vectors for each of the lines in your diagram. Doing this you could use normal addition of vectors to find your unknown, in this case the closest distance between A and B, and find an equation to be solved for it.

As this may still be confusing then let me give you my first line and see if that helps:
xAB = -vBt + 30i + vAt