What Classes Should a First Year Physics/Math Student Consider?

In summary: Make an appointment to meet with the Head of the Physics Department. Be prepared to talk about your academic goals and how you would approach a graduate degree in physics.
Jasom
As the title says, I'm a first year university student, currently attending Northern Michigan University. I'm really quite unsure about what classes I should take in my second semester and was wondering if anyone had some suggestions. I'm unsure what kind of physics/mathematics I want to get into, but I know I belong somewhere in the field of those two subjects. I'm aiming for a Ph.D in whatever field I choose.

During my first semester, I was sort of stuck with classes that I didn't really want because my Freshman Orientation was the last one of the summer and most of the classes I wanted to take were filled. I'm not taking any math or science courses right now, and it really bums me out. Those are the things I understand, things I can get a firm grasp on.

Any suggestions about courses, or even just general college advice, would be greatly appreciated. I look forward to meeting the people of PF and hopefully becoming a regular here.

Physics news on Phys.org
Talk to your undergraduate advisor. As a math or physics major, your first year is pretty much set in stone (calculus and calculus based physics then load up on GE nonsense).

Have you talked to anybody in the physics department about this? Practically everywhere, the physics major starts with introductory physics I and calculus I the first semester of freshman year. I'd be amazed to see a physics department let a prospective physics major get shut out of calculus and the introductory physics sequence for freshman year. There's usually a way to override enrollment limits, but it has to be done by the course instructor or someone in the department.