What Causes Energy Loss in Cables?

In summary, the person is studying transformers for an exam and has a question about the answers B and C. They are confused about which one is true and would like an explanation. The response is that B is true and the length of the wire affects its resistance. The person now understands that the current must be the same throughout the circuit.
salihdemir
Hello,

I am studying transformers now for the exam and I came across this question. It made a confusion in my mind. I took the photo of the question and put it into attachment.

The answers B and C looks very similar to each other and in my humble opinion both of them are true. I would be very happy if somebody explains which is true and why.

Thank you very much.

Salih

Attachments

• photo (1).jpg
    photo (1).jpg
    43.4 KB · Views: 428
Physics news on Phys.org
Analyze C using Kirchhoff's circuit laws.

B is true. And the longer the wire is the bigger the resistance will be.

Thank you, I understand now, the current must be the same everywhere. I thought in the first that because the current is being used in the long leeds, it is decreasing. But I understand that this is a misconception.

Hello Salih,

Thank you for your question. I can understand why the answers B and C may seem similar to you. Both statements mention energy loss in cables, but there is a subtle difference between the two.

Answer B states that energy loss in cables is due to resistance, which is correct. When electricity flows through a cable, it encounters resistance, which causes some of the energy to be converted into heat and lost. This is known as resistive heating.