What causes electric charges? Repulsion and attraction?

In summary, the concept of electric charge is a fundamental ingredient in our models of the world, and its cause is still a mystery in many ways. Physicists are still trying to understand the underlying mechanisms and connections between electric charges, electromagnetism, photons, and light, but it is a complex and ongoing process. The connection between virtual photons and electric charges is that virtual photons can be used to describe electromagnetic fields, but this concept is not a perfect fit for classical electric and magnetic fields.
MoonCream
Hi, I'm an undergraduate biologist student. I was studying chemical bond, but, while trying to understand it, I couldn't really get what causes the electric charges, what seems essential to me. So, someone can explains, in the simplest way as possible, what is electric charge? What causes it? Why there is repulsion and attraction? In my searches I found out something about virtual photons, hypercharge, weak isospin, vacuum, but I couldn't really follow what it meant because it was in a high technical language. Thank you in advance, and sorry if I'm not posting this question in the right place :)

Physics news on Phys.org
MoonCream said:
Hi, I'm an undergraduate biologist student. I was studying chemical bond, but, while trying to understand it, I couldn't really get what causes the electric charges, what seems essential to me. So, someone can explains, in the simplest way as possible, what is electric charge? What causes it? Why there is repulsion and attraction? In my searches I found out something about virtual photons, hypercharge, weak isospin, vacuum, but I couldn't really follow what it meant because it was in a high technical language. Thank you in advance, and sorry if I'm not posting this question in the right place :)