What Career Opportunities Exist for an Environmental Biology and Mechanical Engineering Double Major?

In summary, the conversation discusses the potential career prospects for someone with a double major in Environmental Biology and Mechanical Engineering. Possible areas of interest include processes for food production, designing systems to prevent ecological disasters, and creating regulations for industries that have a negative impact on the environment. The individual could potentially find a job in this field or create their own role by raising awareness and advocating for change.
Seth0Mitchell
Supposed to be A curious combo^ sorry

Hello, I was just wondering what kind of prospects one might seek with a Environmental Biology and Mechanical engineering double major. I'm currently studying meche, but I love ecology and just typically being in nature. I've also considered this and switching to civil and environmental engineering. I may also tack on a physics minor, seeing as my school only requires two more classes than what I have.

Physics news on Phys.org
Hey Seth0Mitchell and welcome to the forums.

One thing that comes to mind for this interesting combination are processes for food production like with say fisheries and other industrial processes for ensuring stability for the ecosystem.

I don't know if this kind of thing exists, but if it does it might interest you.

Also another thing that springs to mind (although this may not be mechanical engineering but petroleum engineering) has to do with designing oil systems that don't end up like the horrendous situation that the BP spill ended up producing.

By taking advantage of both fields you might end up in a situation where you can create awareness or give advice on how to create process standards that give better gaurantees of minimizing further ecological disasters.