What Can Mechanical Engineers Expect in their Day-to-Day Work?

• Thread starter RugbyEng
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Search
In summary: I'm not sure if pursuing a MS would be a good idea now or if I should wait.In summary, RugbyEng is considering pursuing a math degree at a local university, and is concerned about what he may do with that degree. He is also considering pursuing a masters program after this semester.
RugbyEng
For reference I haven't read the book yet, it's next after I finish Emanuel Derman's book.

A brief history: I received my BS in Kinesiology, basically a worthless degree where a MS is required to do anything remotely significant. Shortly after graduating I realized I had no job prospects and zero desire to work in the field. I enjoyed my time at the University and liked what I was learning but it was more of a hobby than something I wanted to do for a living. One year later I took the basic engineering classes at Jr. Co, which were easy (it was Jr. Co) and I'm now starting to get my BS in ME at a local University (I have 4 semesters left). The problem is the more I look around the more I get worried that I'm going to be a CAD jockey, something I don't want to do. I guess I'm just nervous that I won't like this field either. I know I want to do something technical and more math involved, I skimmed that thread on CFD and that sounded interesting.

I guess I'm just wondering if any ME's can give me some insight into what they do on a day to day basis and will there be opportunities to do more technical work? Or should I find a way to switch to applied math or statistics?

For reference, I do wish to pursue a MS somewhere along the line. Any insight will be much appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org
Hey RugbyEng and welcome to the forums.

If your book is the one by Viktor Frankl, it is a great book and I think you'll enjoy it.

I'll be graduating this year with a math degree (one major in statistics) just so you know where I am coming from.