What can I do with Physics Major and Comp. Sci. Minor

In summary, there are many job opportunities available to someone with a B.S. in Physics, and a minor in computer science can further enhance your marketability to potential employers.
div4200
Hi all,

I'm a graduating freshman at university right now. I'm currently enrolled in the engineering program but am strongly considering switching majors to physics with perhaps a computer science minor, or at least some computer science classes. I eventually plan to go to graduate school, either for engineering or physics, but I'm wondering what would happen if I didn't do so right out of university. What kind of jobs could I get with a B.S. in physics at least for a few years if I needed to? Would the comp. sci. classes/minor change anything? Thanks in advance!

Physics news on Phys.org
There are many job opportunities available to someone with a B.S. in Physics. One potential career path is in the field of software engineering, where you would be responsible for developing software applications and systems. You could also explore opportunities in data science or artificial intelligence. With the addition of a minor in computer science, your skillset will become even more attractive to employers. You could also pursue a career in research and development within the physics or engineering fields. Finally, you could look into educational-based roles, such as teaching physics at the college-level.

Related to What can I do with Physics Major and Comp. Sci. Minor

1. What career options are available with a Physics Major and Comp. Sci. Minor?

There are numerous career options available with this combination of majors. Some popular choices include data science, computational physics, software development, scientific research, and engineering. You can also pursue careers in finance, healthcare, and education with these skills.

2. How do these two fields complement each other?