What Blower Specifications Are Needed for an Effective Linear Air Track?

In summary, a household vacuum cleaner can be used as a blower to create enough pressure to lift a cart, but the quality of the construction makes a large difference in the performance of the track. The flatness and uniformity of the surfaces make a big difference in the efficiency of the track.
ithamsarvam
I am a Physics teacher. I made a linear track of length 2m with 400 holes(two rows of 1mm dia). Somewhere I read household vacuum cleaner can be used as a blower. But it does not create sufficient pressure to lift the cart. What should be the specifications of the blower which can be used? Any suggestions for mass and material of the cart? I am using cart made of aluminium. Sakthivel, Coimbatore, India.

Physics news on Phys.org
ithamsarvam said:
I am a Physics teacher. I made a linear track of length 2m with 400 holes(two rows of 1mm dia). Somewhere I read household vacuum cleaner can be used as a blower. But it does not create sufficient pressure to lift the cart. What should be the specifications of the blower which can be used? Any suggestions for mass and material of the cart? I am using cart made of aluminium. Sakthivel, Coimbatore, India.

You neglected to describe the nature of the cart, how heavy it is, its surface that will hover over the track, etc...etc.

Zz.

I assume you have used the V construction that's used in commercially available tracks.
The quality of construction can make a huge difference to the performance of an air track. The flatter the two surfaces (track and cart), the less volume flow of air is needed. The pressure and flow are dictated by the total load and area (probably a √2 factor in there) and the volume flow is dictated by the gap round the edge of the cart and the gap needs to be greater than any undulations / high spots on the surfaces.
Then there will be the other unused holes that need to be supplied even when they are not covered by the cart.