What are the necessary components for a DIY biomed pong game interface?

In summary: Dr. Frankenstein with a 9V battery and your head. In summary, the conversation revolves around a project idea of a bio-med game interface which involves using biomed probes to detect muscle activity and control a video game. The OP is looking for documentation and places to purchase biomed probes. Some suggestions are given for alternative sensor approaches, such as using optical pickups or exercise devices. The discussion also touches on the potential risks and safety considerations of using electrodes on the body, with a personal experience shared of getting shocked with a 9V battery while testing a biofeedback EEG device.
teckjunkie
Hey guys how's it going this is my first post so take it easy on me :wink: . I'm in my last year of electrical engineering technology, and we need to design and construct a final project. On the list of possible topics was the idea of a bio-med game interface. It would be biomed probes detecting muscle activity to control a video game. Rather than getting an open source game, rewriting the code, building a cable to connect it to the computer, and etc I found an old think geek DIY pong game.

http://www.thinkgeek.com/geektoys/science/8546/
(avaible via partsexpress.com)

So I want to replace the buttons with connector probes attached to circuitry. I figured I would have the biomed sensors on the arms going through a high gain op-amp, and that through a ADC. Whichever output became high when then arm was flexed I would tie to a relay or something to close the switch. Simulating someone pushing the buttons.