What are some potential career paths for a nanotechnology engineering major?

In summary: Where is a good place to be employed if you are a nanotechnology Engineer?There are a lot of companies that are developing nanotechnology-based products, so I think the best place to be employed would be one of those companies.3) And lastly.. What is the expected annual salary?I'm not sure what the expected annual salary is for nanotechnology engineers, but I would guess it would be pretty high.
!Live_4Ever!
Hi, I'm a high school student thinking about going to Engineering.

I don't know which engineering field to choose, but I eventually chose nanotechnology engineering, partly because It is a new field since I thought about it the most. I plan to get an MBA afterwards to get into management some time in my mid-30s after I settle in the job as an engineer

My question is:
1) What is the job trend over the next few decades? Do I need to have any drastic career changes in order to survive or something?
2) Where is a good place to be employed if you are a nanotechnology Engineer?
3) And lastly.. What is the expected annual salary? :biggrin:

Thanks a bunch =)

Physics news on Phys.org
!Live_4Ever! said:
1) What is the job trend over the next few decades? Do I need to have any drastic career changes in order to survive or something?

Heh, I think you overestimate our powers. Everyone here who can see the future raise their hands. . .

The actual number of people working in industry in nanotech engineering is almost certainly small. I'm not sure their income values would have any meaning to you by the time you graduated.

Do they have such a major?
I'm an electrical eng. student, never heard of it :D

If it exists, then I certainly don't know what they really do, since nanotechnology is not widely involved in the engineering fields..

I think you must be genius to prove yourself in such a major, because certainly, not every graduate works in that field